Tags

, ,

cozy chevron infinity scarf

rainbow windowpane quilt

lemon squares

It’s rainy and cool here tonight. I’ve got the window cracked and the quilt pulled up. My soundtrack is the pitter-patter rain and the shuuuuush shuuuuuush of cars on wet pavement. Cue the Eddie Rabbitt.

It’s been a quiet but productive day-before-Thanksgiving. I’ve made lemon squares, a cozy infinity scarf, a quilt top, and a big mess in the kitchen. The quilt top is for Miss R, who asked for a quilt that is “all colors.” I added white borders after I took this picture and the quilt now reminds me of an old-fashioned multi-pane window. I like that. The fabric is mostly from Happy Go Lucky by Bonnie & Camille; the pattern is my own.

I used Pink Chalk Fabric’s pattern for the scarf but swapped the recommended tana lawn out for a knit chevron and white Minky dot. This is one of those projects that seems like it’s not going to work until the last second when suddenly it does! I kept looking at this long strip of knit draped all over the table and thought, either this is going to come together, or I’m making a Thneed.

The lemon squares? My mom’s recipe. Very straight-forward, very tasty.

Lemon Squares

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1/4 cup of confectioner’s sugar, plus 1 tablespoon for dusting (optional)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
  • grated rind of one lemon
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Combine the butter, cup of flour, and confectioner’s sugar until it holds together and then press into the bottom of a greased 8″ x 8″ or 9″x 9″ baking pan. Bake for 15 minutes.

Combine the remaining ingredients (sugar through baking powder) until completely mixed. Pour over the cooked cookie base and return the pan to the oven. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until the lemon pudding topping is just set.

Let cool completely, then cut into 12 bars. Dust with confectioner’s sugar. Enjoy!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone, wherever the day takes you.

