Tags

, , ,

Hello!

Today is my first day back after nearly two weeks of vacation. We’ve had snow,

038

031

a lovely Christmas,

048 001

family visits near and far,

088 063

and plenty of time to just hang out together. And now I think we’re ready. The kids have fresh haircuts, the house is (mostly) clean, and my To Do list is prepped. There are light fixtures to hang, new doll quilts to piece, and a partially-refinished table in the basement calling my name.

I thought I’d share a few projects I finished up just under the Christmas wire before I move on.

153 198

188 185 191

212

Man's two-tone felt cuff

The quilts: Miss R asked for “all colors” and The Boy asked for “green and orange and bumblebees.” (Yikes!) For her, I put together a quilt of big and little squares using Happy Go Lucky by Bonnie and Camille as well as some other prints from my stash. The little squares are pieced together using triangle scraps from the bigger squares. The back and binding is from Kumari Gardens by Dena Fishbein. I’ve been saving that butterfly fabric for my girl for over a year now and was so excited to use it!

The Boy’s quilt fabric was harder to source, so it felt like a miracle when I found a cheerful green print with non-cutesy (but also not scary) bees. He didn’t want piecing, either – just one big piece of fabric for the front. I couldn’t bring myself to leave it completely plain, so I added some loopy bee flight trails here and there and hand stitched the outline of a few bees. For the back I used an alphabet fabric in black and white for my new reader and a cloud fabric that complemented the binding and alphabet print. Front and binding: Bright and Buzzy by Laurie Wisbrun. Back: A is For… by My KT and Passing Clouds by Eloise Renouf.

I also managed to paint one needlepoint canvas. I’d had four in mind but this one was the most important, a gift for my crafty niece. Cute, yes? I was inspired by little felt owl ornaments I’d seen around and wondered how it would come out in 2D. I used a size 18 needlepoint canvas and the yarns are pearl cotton #5.

And, last but not least, a contrast-y felt cuff (bracelet?) for Mr. K. It’s made of black, dark brown, and red wool felt. Despite its small size and simple construction, I was really pleased with how this came out. Tutorial to come!

Now, about that 2014 To Do list…..

Happy New Year everyone!

