Tags

, ,

fairytale quilt shadows

Back in September, I raved here about Code Name Verity. My post prompted a conversation with a friend who didn’t love the book so much – she found some of the war scenes difficult to take. She had the same (legitimate) trouble with another favorite of mine, Briar Rose by Jane Yolen, which weaves together WWII concentration camps and Sleeping Beauty. And this led to a discussion of modern fairy tales.

I have a soft spot for these stories. They turn the old formulas on their heads, set ancient tales in recent decades, look through the eyes of minor characters, or alter the backstory. They can empower passive characters, humanize evil ones, and expose the weaknesses in our assumptions. For my friend, I recommended Newbury honor winner Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine and two by Robin McKinley, The Hero and the Crown, winner of the Newbury Award, and Rose Daughter. Maybe when I’m through with this stack from the library, I can recommend a few more.

YA fairy tales

I was thinking about all of this as I pieced together a doll quilt from the scraps of Miss R’s Rainbow Windowpane quilt. This one feels fairy tale-ish to me. I’m not sure if it’s the paths made by the striped fabric, the whimsical quilting, or the colorful patchwork, but it feels like a quilt for a scrappy little princess. So much so, in fact, that I decided to name it that. Here’s the Scrappy Little Princess doll quilt.

Fairytale doll quilt

052 053 056 060

Flower quilting

The fabrics are a mix of Kona cotton in White, various Happy Go Lucky prints by Bonnie & Camille, and some DS Quilt prints from Joann’s. The striped fabric is from Kumari Gardens by Dena Fishbein.

