mini zip pouches

Hello, and happy 2016 to you!

It’s been quiet around here because it’s been so busy in my brick-and-mortar world. Among other chaos, my kitchen looked like this for much of December:

IMG_4616

Just in case you haven’t tried it, two weeks before Thanksgiving is the perfect time to dismantle part of your kitchen. Really. There’s nothing like two looming holidays to motivate you.

Yes, that’s sarcasm. =)

Seriously, though, I’ve found that if I wait for the perfect time to start these projects they never happen. Although things have improved since the picture above – the cabinet doors are painted and back on, for starters – we have more work to do. I’ll post some before-and-after shots in (hopefully) a few weeks.

fleece infinity scarf

I did get a little bit of sewing in before Christmas, though. In November I made a dozen minky and jersey infinity scarves and lots of little zip pouches. Both are simple, quick, and satisfying projects. The scarves are the same minky-and-jersey type that have been my go-to for a few years, using minky dot from Hawthorne Threads, Pink Chalk Fabric’s pattern, and soft jersey knit. This year I picked two prints from the Skopelos line for the jersey and paired them with navy and cream minky. The tiny pouches were made with this pattern from So Sew Easy and various fabrics and zippers from my stash. I ended up making extra because the kids kept stealing them to store their treasures!

Laura Ashley country roses needlepoint

I also finished up a UFO from the 1980s. This Laura Ashley needlepoint had been stitched and rolled up in a pillowcase for decades. I finally blocked it and noticed again how pretty it is, and decided to make it into a pillow. To give it a bit more of a 21st century pop, I used a hot pink linen for the backing and trim.

I feel like 2015 finished up with some loose ends but was pretty good overall. I did a lot, which is positive, but got stuck in a few places, which means there’s room for growth. I think I’m going to adopt a simple mantra for 2016, rather than make resolutions.

How did your year wrap up? I’m curious – what was your favorite project of 2015? If you feel like it, please share a link in the comments so I can see what you’ve been up to!

